Apply TWAS-Samira Omar Innovation for Sustainability Prize 2018 for Scientists from Developing Countries

Filed in Admission News by on July 5, 2018 0 Comments

Don’t Miss this Chance: Application Deadline for TWAS-Samira Omar Innovation for Sustainability Prize 2018 for Scientists from Developing Countries has been extended, See How to Apply, Requirements and New application closing date.
This new annual prize, named after the TWAS Fellow Samira Omar, will recognize scientists from Least Developed Countries (LDCs). It carries a cash award of USD4,000 generously provided by Professor Omar. The prize will honour scientists working in an area relevant to sustainability.

  • Application Deadline: 10th July 2018 (from 31st May)

Eligible Countries: Afghanistan, Angola, Bangladesh, Benin, Bhutan, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo Dem. Rep., Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gambia, Guinea-Bissau, Guinea, Haiti, Kiribati, Lao PDR, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mozambique, Myanmar, Nepal, Niger, Rwanda, São Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tuvalu, Uganda, Tanzania, Vanuatu, Yemen, Zambia.

Field of Award: The thematic area for the 2018 prize is Plastic: Degradation, pollution and microplastics.
About the Award: Our planet, and therefore our existence, faces several challenges: world population, food security, climate change, biodiversity loss, water scarcity/poor sanitation, energy resources. Sustainability involves considering the relationship between the finite resources of the planet and the way of life adopted by humans: in what way can our existence be maintained and at what level?
Sustainability is at the forefront of many discussions at the international scene. The 17 Sustainable Development Goals released by the UN in 2015 as part of the 2030 Agenda underlie that we must become aware of the fact that we are compromising the future of generations to come. The SDGs may well represent the best attempt at addressing sustainability issues at a global scale.
Type: Contest/Award
Eligibility: The 2018 prize will be awarded to a scientist living and working in an LDC during the last two years immediately prior to his/her nomination, based on scientific achievements in the thematic area of Plastic: Degradation, pollution and microplastics.
Number of Awards: 1
Value of Award: USD4,000
How to Apply: Interested nominators/candidates are to complete the Application Form electronically (See in Program Webpage Link below), save it in the format SURNAME_Initial.doc (e.g. SMITH_D.doc if the candidate’s name is David SMITH), and send it by 10 July 2018 to: [email protected]
Three documents must be attached to the e-mail message:

  1. This nomination form;
  2. The candidate’s curriculum vitae, including a full list of publications
  3. A supporting statement by the nominator

Ask the nominee to send by email the following authorization to [email protected]
Visit Programme Webpage for Details
Award Providers: Samira Omar

  • Application Deadline: 10th July 2018 (from 31st May)

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *