Ghana Regions and their Capital Cities

Ghana Regions and their Capital Cities – The Ghanaian nation is comprised of ten noteworthy regions spread wonderfully over the West African Country. So how many regions in Ghana are there and what are their capitals? This post highlights the ten regions and their capital cities.
Ghana Regions and their Capital Cities

Regions in Ghana and their Capitals

The Regions in Ghana and their Capitals are as illustrated below;

1. The Greater Accra Region

The capital of the Accra Region is Accra. Accra is the national capital city and is the place the president stays. It is the most densely populated among all regions of Ghana with a population of 4,010,054 individuals. The district is the littlest in contrast with alternate areas with a territory of 3,245 square kilometres. Additionally, the city has 16 districts.

2. The Central Region

The Capital city of this region is Cape Coast. It was ideal for harboring such a significant number of slaves when servitude was wild in Africa. Notably, slaves were sent to this district to work, and they just left after the subjection time was finished. With a size greater than the Capital city Accra, the Central region traverses a territory of 9,826 square kilometres. It has 17 districts with a populace of around 2,201,863 individuals.


3. The Eastern Region

The region’s capital is Koforidua with a size of 19,323 square kilometres. It sits beautifully on the eastern side of the nation. The Akans are the principle tenants of the area and Akan, Ewe and English are the real dialects in this region of 26 districts. The Eastern Region is known to be home to the Akosombo Dam, one of the biggest dams in the continent supplying power to its occupants. Notably, the region has a populace of 2,633,154 Ghanaians.

4. The Western Region

The region’s capital is Sekondi – Tekoradi, located towards the south of Ghana and has the Ivory Coast as one of its fringes. It is shockingly where unrefined petroleum was found in expansive amounts in June 2007. It appreciates that as well as the coastline that goes far. When we say, this place is honored we really would not joke about this.

The locale likewise has the most noteworthy rainfalls in Ghana. What’s more, gold mining (small/large scale) happens there also. The Western Region covers an area of 23,921 square kilometres with a population of 2,376,021 residents in 22 districts. The primary dialects in this region are English and Akan, as Akan rules the way of life.


5. The Ashanti Region

This region is the third biggest area of the 10 regions in Ghana with Kumasi as the capital city. Involving a surface territory of 24,389 square kilometers of the aggregate land, it is the most populous in the entire of Ghana. The region has an extraordinary 4,780,380 populace as of the 2010 statistics. The area is significantly known for gold bar and the generation of cocoa which is the biggest fare that the nation gives. Regions of Ghana map isolate the area into 30 districts.


6. The Northern Region

It is the biggest in the area among the regions in Ghana, with a settling size of 70,384 square kilometres. The region’s capital city is Tamale, and around 75% of the financial movement is in agriculture. Shockingly, the Northern Region is considerably drier than others in the list of regions in Ghana. With a population of 2,479,461 residents, we can say that the atmosphere of the region is remarkable. It additionally has 26 districts within it.

7. The Upper East Region

With 13 districts, the locale is situated on the northern sides of Ghana. The region is the second smallest among the ten. Involving a surface area of 8,842 square kilometers makes it the second littlest by measure. The capital city is Bolgatanga, which is generally alluded as (Bolga). It has a populace of 1,046,545, despite the size.


8. The Upper West Region

Situated in the northwest segment of Ghana, it is the most youthful locale to be made, and as though that isn’t sufficient it has a short capital name to it. The Capital of the Upper West Region is Wa. Covering an area of 18,476 square kilometres and home to a populace of 702,110 residents, the region has the most modest number of inhabitants among all regions of Ghana. It additionally has 11 districts under it.


9. The Volta Region

With Ho as its capital, this is one of the areas that are multi-ethnic and multilingual. Notably, the region is home to communities such as Ewe, the Guan, and Akan. It has a populace of around 2,118,252 residents living in a region of 20,570 square kilometres. The Volta Region additionally has 25 districts.


10. The Brong Ahafo Region

With an area of 39,557 square kilometres, this region is the second largest among the regions of Ghana and their capitals. The region is located adjacent to the Black Volta River to the north and Volta Lake toward the east. The capital of this region is Suyani. This region was established from Bono State in the year 1958. The residents of the area are the Akans, Brongs, and Ahafo. The Brong Ahafo Region has 21 districts and a population of 2,310,983 residents.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here